IFYR: Internation Finals Youth Rodeo

The town of Shawnee, Oklahoma is nothing special. Just your average town in central Oklahoma until the second week of July rolls around that is. You see the second week of July is when the International Finals Youth Rodeo rolls in to town. High school aged cowboys and cowgirls from all over the United States, Australia, and Canada make the trip to Shawnee, Oklahoma to compete in the world’s richest youth rodeo. 


The International Finals Youth Rodeo is an internationally recognized high school rodeo that was established in 1993.  Starting with only 309 contestants the rodeo has grown to average more than 1,000 contestants. The IFYR is unique in that it has three arenas full of action packed events goingnon-stop for two hours twice a day. The rodeo consist of two long go-rounds and one short round in which only the top fifteen from each event are brought back to compete for more than a quarter of a million dollars, plus buckles, saddles, and the title of IFYR Champion.


From Jet and Cord McCoy to Justin McDaniel The International Finals Youth Rodeo has seen some of the best professional cowboys and cowgirls compete in their arenas, and this year has been nothing different. Congratulations to the International Finals Youth Rodeo on celebrating their 25th anniversary and above all congratulations to the 2017 IFYR Champions and good luck down the rodeo road!


Bareback Bronc Champion: Jesse Pope from Garnett, KS

Pole Bending Champion: Brooklyn Gunter from Sulphur, LS

Breakaway Roping Champion: Winter Williams from Copan, Oklahoma

Team Roping Champions: Garett Chick from Saldo, TX and Kirby Blakenship from Lampasas, TX

Saddle Bronc Champion: Stetson Wright from Milford, UT

Tie Down Roping Champion: Ben Piazza from Twin Oaks, OK

Steer Wrestling Champion: Chase Graves from Poplarville, MS

Goat Tying Champion: Beau Peterson from Council Grove, KS

Barrel Racing Champion: Elizabeth Broussard from Estherwood, LS

Bull Riding Champion: Stetson Wright from Milford, UT

Champion All Around Cowgirl: Katlyn Miller from Dammeron Valley, UT

Champion All Around Cowboy: Stetson Wright from Milford, UT

Photos courtesy of Skylarjo.com


Please note, comments must be approved before they are published